What I Read: September 2017

I’m sure it’s been obvious that I haven’t been posting on this blog as often as I’d like to. With my work load consistently growing, I’m having a hard time posting weekly/bi-weekly to share what I’m reading. So from now on, I’m going to post the first of each month with what I read the month before, and then include interviews throughout the month when I get them.

What I Read (Children’s Books) in September 2017:

rebelgirls

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls: 100 Tales of Extraordinary Women, Elena Favilli & Francesca Cavallo, December 1, 2016, Timbuktu Labs.

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls is a children’s book packed with 100 bedtime stories about the life of 100 extraordinary women from the past and the present, illustrated by 60 female artists from all over the world. This book inspires girls with the stories of great women, from Elizabeth I to Serena Williams.

Still reveling in this one and limiting myself to one inspiring story a night. I love teaching my boys about these women.

shelbyholmes

The Great Shelby Holmes Meets Her Match, Elizabeth Eulberg, September 12, 2017, Bloomsbury.

The Great Shelby Holmes may have finally met her match in this humorous sequel to Elizabeth Eulberg’s fresh twist on Sherlock Holmes.

Being friends with a super sleuth isn’t easy, especially when she’s nine years old and four feet tall, and full of attitude. But for eleven-year-old aspiring writer John Watson, being friends with Shelby Holmes is just the adventure he’s looking for.
In the few weeks since moving to Harlem with his mom, Shelby has been training John in the art of observation—a skill that comes in handy on the first day of school. John’s new teacher, Mr. Crosby, is acting suspiciously, and Shelby knows this is a mystery worth investigating. But as Shelby and John dig deeper, they discover that there may be someone unexpected involved—someone who may have Shelby beat.
From internationally bestselling author Elizabeth Eulberg comes a feel-good sequel for fans of Kate Messner and Chris Grabenstein.

I had to read this one right when it came out, it is just too cute and I’m sucker for Holmes “retellings.” I loved this one just as much as the first.

click'd

Click’d, Tamara Ireland Stone, September 5, 2017, Disney-Hyperion.

Allie Navarro can’t wait to show her best friends the app she built at CodeGirls summer camp. CLICK’D pairs users based on common interests and sends them on a fun (and occasionally rule-breaking) scavenger hunt to find each other. And it’s a hit. By the second day of school, everyone is talking about CLICK’D.

Watching her app go viral is amazing. Leaderboards are filling up! Everyone’s making new friends. And with all the data Allie is collecting, she has an even better shot at beating her archenemy, Nathan, at the upcoming youth coding competition. But when Allie discovers a glitch that threatens to expose everyone’s secrets, she has to figure out how to make things right, even if that means sharing the computer lab with Nathan. Can Allie fix her app, stop it from doing any more damage, and win back the friends it hurt-all before she steps on stage to present CLICK’D to the judges?

New York Times best-selling author Tamara Ireland Stone combines friendship, coding, and lots of popcorn in her fun and empowering middle-grade debut.

I reviewed this for The Deseret News, review found HERE.

michaelvey

Michael Vey: The Final Spark, Richard Paul Evans, Simon Pulse/Mercury Ink, September 12, 2017

The Electroclan is facing a devastating loss: Michael is missing. What’s next?

The battle on the island of Hades ended with a devastating explosion that left the island a smoking ruin and much of Hatch’s army dead. Hatch survived, however, and while his plans have certainly suffered a setback, he’s more determined than ever to bring the world’s governments under his control. But first, he wants to wipe out the resistance and capture the remaining members of the Electroclan.

As Hatch’s forces storm into action, it seems nothing can stand in their way. The Electroclan is divided. The voice is captured, and Michael’s mother is being used as bait to lure the leader of the resistance out of hiding. Can anything—or anyone—stop the Elgen? Or is this the end?

I reviewed this for The Deseret News. Full review HERE, interview with author HERE.

dragonwatch

Dragonwatch, Brandon Mull, Shadow Mountain, March 17, 2017.

In the hidden dragon sanctuary of Wyrmroost, Celebrant the Just, King of the Dragons, plots his revenge. He has long seen the sanctuaries as prisons, and he wants nothing more than to overthrow his captors and return the world to the Age of Dragons, when he and his kind ruled and reigned without borders. The time has come to break free and reclaim his power.

No one person is capable of stopping Celebrant and his dragon horde. It will take the ancient order of Dragonwatch to gather again if there is any chance of saving the world from destruction. In ancient times, Dragonwatch was a group of wizards, enchantresses, dragon slayers, and others who originally confined the majority of dragons into sanctuaries. But nearly all of the original Dragonwatch members are gone, and so the wizard Agad reaches out to Grandpa Sorenson for help.

As Kendra and Seth confront this new danger, they must draw upon all their skills, talents, and knowledge as only they have the ability to function together as a powerful dragon tamer. Together they must battle against forces with superior supernatural powers and breathtaking magical abilities.

How will the epic dragon showdown end? Will dragons overthrow humans and change the world as we know it?

Been trying to read this one for months and finally sat down to read it and finished it in one night. So fun being back in the Fablehaven World. And Brandon Mull writes dragons very well.

deadzone

Deadzone, Jennifer A. Nielsen, September 12, 2017, Scholastic.

Not something I would usually pick up, but enjoyed the read for my review for The Deseret News. Full review HERE.

I didn’t read ANY Young Adult books last month! Crazy. Hoping to remedy that in October.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s